Sins of My Father

Sins of My Father

Author: Lily Dunn

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781474623308

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 259

When Lily Dunn was just six years old, her father left the family home to follow his guru to India, trading domestic life for clothes dyed in oranges and reds and the promise of enlightenment with the cult of Bhagwan Shree Rajneesh. Since then he has been a mystery to her. She grew up enthralled by the image of him; effervescent, ambitious and elusive, a writer, publisher and entrepreneur, a man who would appear with gifts from faraway places, and with whom she spent the long, hot summers of her teenage years in Italy, in the company of his wild and wealthy friends. Yet he was also a compulsive liar, a delinquent, a man who abandoned his responsibilities in a pursuit of transcendence that took him from sex addiction, via the Rajneesh cult, to a relentless chase of money, which ended in ruin and finally addiction to alcohol and prescription drugs. A detective story that charts two colliding narratives, Sins of My Father is a daughter's attempt to unravel the mysteries of a father who believed himself to be beyond reproach. A dazzling work of literary memoir, it asks how deep legacies of shame and trauma run, and if we can reconcile unconditional love with irreparable damage.

My Father's Sins

My Father's Sins

Author: Rains Dale Rains

Publisher: Dale Osborn Rains

ISBN: 9781440168284

Category: Fiction

Page: 356

View: 241

The Reverend Michael Richey, rector of St. Christopher's Episcopal Church and chaplain to the Madison Police Department, is blessed with a beautiful family, an enthusiastic congregation, and a fulfi lling ministry to the homeless men and women of Madison, South Carolina. However, when the police discover the body of a homeless man in a street-side stairwell, MPD Chief Detective Jerry Majors surprisingly implicates Father Mike in the old man's murder. To prove his innocence, Mike pledges to find the killer himself, despite the strong objections of his close friend, Police Detective Carlos Ruiz, and his beloved bishop, the Right Reverend Barbara Michener. Then Mike makes an earth-shattering discovery: the killer is targeting him and not only him but also his ten-year-old son, Tim. Now he's working against time. He must fi nd the killer now. See the author's website at www.DaleOsbornRains.com.

For the Sins of My Father

For the Sins of My Father

Author: Albert DeMeo

Publisher: Crown

ISBN: 9780767911290

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 900

A suspenseful, emotionally charged real-life Sopranos: The son of New York's most notorious Mafia killer reveals the conflicted life he led being raised by a cold-blooded murderer, who was also a devoted family man, and the wrenching legacy of Mafia family life. Al DeMeo will never forget the day in 1992 when a coworker, a fellow trader at the New York Stock Exchange, taunted him with a copy of the hot new book Murder Machine, chronicling the horrific criminal life of DeMeo's father, Roy, the head of the most deadly gang in organized crime. The moment sent DeMeo into a psychological tailspin: How could he have spent his life looking up to, and loving, a vicious killer? For the Sins of My Father recounts the chilling rise and fall of the man who led the Gambino family's most fearsome killers and thieves, through the eyes of a son who had never known any other kind of life. Coming of age in an opulent Long Island house where money is abundant but its source is unclear, Al becomes Roy's confidant, sent to call in loans at age fourteen and gradually coming to understand his father's job description--loan shark, car thief, porn purveyor and, above all, murderer. But when Al is seventeen, Roy's body is found in the trunk of a car, a gangland slaying that places Al between federal prosecutors seeking his testimony and a mob crew determined to keep him quiet. Desperate to abide by the father-son bond, but equally determined to escape his father's dangerous and doomed life, Al Demeo embarks on a courageous quest for the truth, reconciliation, and honor. With the implacable narrative drive of a thriller and the power of a painfully honest memoir, For the Sins of My Father presents a startling and unprecedented perspective on the underworld of organized crime, exposing for the first time the cruel legacy of a Mafia life.

Our Long Journey to Our Fatherland

Our Long Journey to Our Fatherland

Author: Rev. Glenn Oyan

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 9781664126305

Category: Fiction

Page: 64

View: 684

Four Filipino-American children named John, Kevin, Maria Isabelle, and Erickson tell their story on how they journeyed towards finding their biological American fathers and how they battled persecution, racism, discrimination, and poverty throughout their journey. Inspite of the challenges, they remained faithful to their family, God, and their dreams to see and meet their biological fathers. They were forced to be strong or they will not survive but in the end they found closure, love, and forgiveness. May their stories move the hand of the US Congress to revise the “US Amerasian Act of 1982” to include the Fil-Am Children.

I Never Played Catch with My Father

I Never Played Catch with My Father

Author: Gene Cartwright

Publisher: Gene Cartwright

ISBN: 9780964975606

Category: Fiction

Page: 330

View: 770

With is father near death and his mind swirling with stilted and unresolved memories of him, Billionaire, James Phalen, is forced to confront the truth about his childhood, and about how he views his father. At forty-one years of age, he realizes that what matters most are the memories, or lack of memories. He lures us into his life?into his world, where his billions and his successes are not enough to guide him through the pain and conflict. James Phalen stands at a crossroads, facing a decision that will change his life. Time is running out.

From Godless Dark To Godly Light

From Godless Dark To Godly Light

Author: David Lendway

Publisher: Christian Faith Publishing, Inc.

ISBN: 9781644584026

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 271

View: 672

This is the biography and journey of a father leading his family out of the world's relative darkness, confusion, and misunderstanding caused by false teaching and into the realm of absolute daylight, certainty, hopefulness, and understanding by way of the undeniable truth. You will be guided through this father's life from early childhood, through adolescence, adulthood, and old age. You will learn of his extensive religious background, which will hopefully provide him with a certain amount of credibility because of what he decided to do with his life, the life of his family, and many of those who he came in contact with. You will be presented with four letters he has written to each of his three children informing them of the way they each need to change their lives in order to come out of the darkness of confusion and unbelief and into the light of certainty and true belief. You will see how each of these letters were accepted by them and the impact they had on his wife and each of his three children. Finally you will see what each member of his family is now doing with their lives and how each has changed from what they were then, before the letters, and what they are now, after the letters.

Her Father's Sins

Her Father's Sins

Author: Josephine Cox

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780755384426

Category: Fiction

Page: 259

View: 244

Does Queenie have the strength to overcome her father's sins and grasp love and happiness? Josephine Cox brings us the first instalment of Queenie's story in Her Father's Sins, the unforgettable saga of a young woman's refusal to settle for second best. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Sheila Newberry. Queenie seemed born to suffer. Her mam died giving birth to her, her drunken father George Kenney ignored her unless he was cursing her, and only beloved Auntie Biddy provided an anchor for the little girl. Growing up in post-war Blackburn, life could be tough when Biddy had to take in washing to make ends meet - at a time when the washing machine began to gain popularity. After Auntie Biddy's death there was only Queenie to care for the home and to earn money, and no one to protect her from the father who blamed his daughter for her mother's death. But Queenie is resilient. And in spite of hardship, she grows up tall and strikingly beautiful with her deep grey eyes and her abundant honey-coloured hair. Love, in the shape of Rick Marsden, might have released her from the burden of the drink-sodden George. But the sins of the fathers cannot be easily forgotten... What readers are saying about Her Father's Sins: 'A well written book and one that I found I couldn't put down until I had read it from cover to cover in one go!' 'This is an excellent story with the various strands all marvellously coming together at the end' 'I loved every word of the book - five stars'

A Concordance to the Canonical Books of the Old and New Testament: to which are added a Concordance to the books called Apocrypha: and a Concordance to the Psalter, contained in the Book of Common Prayer. [The preface signed: T. B. M., i.e. Thomas B. Murray. The concordance to the Bible and Apocrypha compiled by T. B. Murray, Michael Biggs and others; that to the Psalter by Charles Girdlestone.]

A Concordance to the Canonical Books of the Old and New Testament: to which are added a Concordance to the books called Apocrypha: and a Concordance to the Psalter, contained in the Book of Common Prayer. [The preface signed: T. B. M., i.e. Thomas B. Murray. The concordance to the Bible and Apocrypha compiled by T. B. Murray, Michael Biggs and others; that to the Psalter by Charles Girdlestone.]

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: BL:A0017091318

Category: Bible

Page: 1423

View: 912

He Calleth Thee

He Calleth Thee

Author: Robert Eshiomunda Kutswa

Publisher: PartridgeIndia

ISBN: 9781482896190

Category: Fiction

Page: 247

View: 658

Life is a journey with turns and twists that have always left even the best placed in society lost for options. A pastor takes his place and with the tool best known to him to try and address the decadence in society. He discovers to his amazement it is not by might nor by power but by the spirit of God that the taste of victory is sweeter.

Beyond Fiction

Beyond Fiction

Author: Alpha Dominion

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 9781514463222

Category: Fiction

Page: 560

View: 129

SADR—South Atlantic Democratic Republic—was to become a theater of war from the first day General Jumial Jafar (JCOS) set his eyes on Silverstone Ankersine in a passing out parade at a military academy, and that became the seedbed of vendetta. Jumial Jafar, who later became a civilian president of SADR, takes his personal vendetta against Silverstone Ankersine to a ridiculous extreme. He scuttles a blooming romance between his daughter and Silverstone Ankersine. Banished from SADR, Silverstone Ankersine fights from outside the country and survived the senseless war. In a surprised turnaround, this same Silverstone Ankersine eventually married his enemy’s daughter, Aishatu Jumial Jafar, in a bid to ensure peace between them and put an end to the blood feud, but it was to no avail. Follow this never-say-die ex-marine as he outwits his oppressor, Jumial Jafar, in several grueling warring encounters. Eventually, the entire Jumial Jafar’s family finds its waterloo at the hands of their nemesis Captain Silverstone Ankersine on his return from exile. In a power play advantage following the inadvertent murder of an elected President Shitabay Mamara by unknown gunmen on the inauguration day, the way was paved for Captain Silverstone Ankersine to become the President of SADR against all odds in a sudden twist of fate.